facebook youtube

KPO and Power

«Karachaganak Petroleum Operating BV (KPO) » is a consortium of companies with the aim of developing the Karachaganak oil and gas condensate field, one of the largest in the world, located in western Kazakhstan on the border with Russia.

The consortium includes such giants as: Chevron (18%) from the United States, BG Group (29,25%) from the UK, Eni from Italy (29.25%), LUKOIL (13.5%) from Russia, and a local company, KazMunayGas (10%). The BG Group and Eni are joint operators of the Karachaganak field.

KPO signed the Agreement on Karachaganak production with the Government of Kazakhstan in 1997. According to that document, all fines and welfare payments would be reimbursed to a consortium from the Kazakh profits from the field. Under the agreement, KPO will manage the Karachaganak project until 2038.

The consortium repeatedly states that it adheres to the highest standards of environmental protection and that it spends hundreds of millions of dollars on environmental projects. Furthermore, they point out that their development has brought the rate of gas utilization at Karachaganak to the world level, which allegedly demonstrates KPO's leadership among global and European oil and gas enterprises. However, evidence from the local population and government data shows an alarming level of pollution near the field.

Brief Chronicle of problems:

2016 г.
Twenty-five children in Berezovka were affected at the end of 2014 by poisonous emissions from the Karachaganak field, which caused them to feel sick. There are new cases every year of children feeling ill, as well as cases of acute ailment among adults. The affected children have not received adequate treatment for over a year, and KPO has failed to claim responsibility for the tragedy.

2015 г.
The relocation of Berezovka residents to the nearby town of Aksai began in November, after more than a decade of confrontation between residents and non-governmental organizations with the authorities and the leadership of KPO.
KPO was fined 9.5 billion tenge (about $28 million USD) for noncompliance with environmental laws, however, no one acknowledged the risks to the health of Berezovka residents.

2014 г.
On November 28, 2014, 25 students and several adults of Berezovka fainted, had seizures, and experienced dizziness, blood pressure surges, and severe headaches. Throughout the year, children continued to be ill and did not receive adequate treatment.
On November 29, 2014, a criminal case was opened "on the fact of mass sickness of students and teachers in Beryozovka."

2012 г.
In 2012, KPO paid $51 million for gas flaring in 2010. That same year, the court fined the company $31 million for excess emissions from 2010-2011.

2007 г.
The Regional Court of Houston, Texas found the American company Baker Hughes (a KPO contractor) guilty of bribing officials in Kazakhstan, resulting in lucrative contracts for American businesses to participate in the preparatory work on the Karachaganak field.

2006 г.
After three years of public outcry, the Attorney General of Kazakhstan declared it illegal to reduce the sanitary protection zone (SPZ) around the Karachaganak. That decision restored the sanitary zone around Berezovka from which it had previously been "withdrawn." Neither KPO nor the government compensated the residents for the long-term violation of their rights, nor did either entity make efforts to resettle the village.

2005 г.
Regional environmental management authorities temporarily withdrew KPO's license to work due to environmental violations, including the release of 56 thousand tons of pollutants into the atmosphere in 2004. In the course of a public environmental review conducted by the Kazakh Society of Nature Conservation, it was found that actual emissions of harmful substances into the atmosphere from KPO exceeded the permissible limits by 3.3 times in 2004 and 2.8 times in 2005.

2003 г.
KPO convinced the government of Kazakhstan to reduce the sanitary protection zone (SPZ) around the Karachaganak field from five kilometers (which included Berezovka) to three kilometers, stating that the field used the "best technology." This decision deprived the residents of any legal basis for resettlement. The SPZ was reduced without consulting state ecological expertise, and without informing local residents or seeking public participation in the decision-making process.

Sources:

  1. Amina Jalilova, "Karachaganak: results of the year," Kazakhstanskaya Pravda, 26.02.2013.
  2. http://crudeaccountability.org/campaigns/karachaganak/the-campaign-2003-today/ , 13.05.2013.
  3. Laura Suleimenov, "Risks in the spill," Ak Zhaiyk, 26.01.2012
  4. http://crudeaccountability.org/campaigns/karachaganak/the-campaign-2003-today/ , 13.05.2013.
  5. http://www.vestikavkaza.ru/news/55443.html , 05.04.2012.
  6. Gulmira Kenzhegalieva, "The penalty of money does not work?" Caravan, 14.07.2012.
  7. Sergey Solyanik, An Oil Democracy, or the Story of Berezovka, Green Salvation Herald, 2006, pp.82-95.
  8. http://www.greensalvation.org/index.php?page=berezovka, 14.05.2013.
  9. http://www.cao-ombudsman.org/cases/default.aspx?region_id=2, 14.05.2013.
Crude Accountability
Меню сайта

facebook youtube

КПО И ВЛАСТЬ

«Карачагана́к Петро́леум Опере́йтинг Б. В.» (Karachaganak Petroleum Operating B.V.) — консорциум компаний по разработке нефтегазоконденсатного месторождения Карачаганак, одного из крупнейших в мире, расположенного в Западном Казахстане на границе с Россией.

В консорциум входят такие гиганты как: Chevron (18%) - США, BG Group (29,25%) - Великобритания, Eni – Италия (29,25%), “ЛУКОЙЛ” (13,5%) - Россия и местная компания "КазМунайГаз" (10%). BG Group вместе с Eni являются совместными операторами Карачаганакского месторождения.

КПО подписал с правительством Казахстана Соглашение о разделе продукции по Карачаганаку в 1997 году. Согласно этому документу все штрафы и социальные выплаты будут возвращены консорциуму из казахстанской части прибыли от месторождения. По условиям соглашения, КПО будет осуществлять управление Карачаганакским проектом в период до 2038 года.

Консорциум постоянно заявляет о том, что придерживается высочайших стандартов в области охраны окружающей среды, тратит сотни миллионов долларов на природоохранные проекты и довела показатель утилизации газа на Карачаганаке до мирового уровня, что, якобы, говорит о лидерстве КПО в этом вопросе среди мировых и европейских нефтегазодобывающих предприятий.

Однако свидетельства местного населения и данные государственных органов показывают тревожный уровень загрязнения вблизи месторождения.

Краткая хроника проблем:

2016 г.
25 детей поселка Березовка, отравившиеся в конце 2014 г. выбросами с месторождения Карачаганак продолжают болеть. Состояние многих детей до сих пор остается тяжелым. Заболевают новые дети, есть случаи острых недомоганий и среди взрослых.
Дети более года не получают адекватного лечения. КПО не взял на себя ответственность за трагедию.

2015 г.
В ноябре, после более чем десятилетнего противостояния жителей и общественных организаций с властями и руководством КПО началось переселение Березовки в соседний город Аксай.
В том же году КПО оштрафован на 9,5 млрд тенге (почти 28 млн долларов) за несоблюдение экологического законодательства, при этом никем не признан факт ущерба здоровью жителей Березовки.

2014 г.
28 ноября 2014 года 25 школьников Березовки и несколько взрослых упали в обморок, у них начались сильные судороги, головокружения, скачки давления, сильная головная боль. В течение всего года дети продолжали болеть и не получали адекватного лечения.
29 ноября 2014 г. открыто уголовное дело «по факту массового недомогания учеников и учителей п. Березовка».

2012 г.
В 2012 году КПО заплатил 51 млн долларов США за сжигание газа на факелах в 2010 году. В том же году суд дополнительно взыскал с компании 31 млн долларов США за сверхнормативные выбросы в 2010-2011 годах.

2007 г.
Региональный суд города Хьюстона, штат Техас, США, признал, что американская компания «Бейкер Хьюз», подрядчик КПО, виновна в даче взяток чиновникам Казахстана. Таким образом, американские предприниматели получили выгодный контракт на участие в подготовительных работах на Карачаганакском месторождении.

2006 г.
После трех лет протестов общественности, генеральный прокурор Казахстана признал решение о сокращении санитарно-защитной зоны вокруг Карачаганака (которое «вывело» березовцев из зоны влияния месторождения), незаконным, она была восстановлена. Однако ни КПО, ни правительство не компенсировали жителям многолетнее нарушение их прав и не предприняли усилий по переселению поселка.

2005 г.
Областное управление экологии временно отозвало лицензию на проведение работ у КПО из-за экологических нарушений, включающих в себя выброс 56 тысяч тонн загрязняющих веществ в атмосферу в 2004 году. В ходе общественной экологической экспертизы, проведенной Казахским обществом охраны природы, было установлено, что фактические выбросы вредных веществ КПО в атмосферу превысили допустимые нормы в 2004 году в 3,3 раза, в 2005 году — в 2,8 раза.

2003 г.
KПO убедил правительство Казахстана сократить санитарно-защитную зону (СЗЗ) вокруг месторождения Карачаганак с пяти километров (тогда в нее входила часть поселка Березовка) до трех километров, заявив, что на месторождении применяются «наилучшие технологии», тем самым лишив жителей правовой основы для переселения. СЗЗ была уменьшена без государственной экологической экспертизы, информирования местных жителей и участия общественности в процессе принятия решения.

Источники:

  1. Амина Джалилова, «Карачаганак: итоги года», Казахстанская правда, 26.02.2013.
  2. http://crudeaccountability.org/campaigns/karachaganak/the-campaign-2003-today/ , 13.05.2013.
  3. Лаура Сулейменова, «Риски в разливе», Ак Жайык, 26.01.2012.
  4. http://crudeaccountability.org/campaigns/karachaganak/the-campaign-2003-today/ , 13.05.2013.
  5. http://www.vestikavkaza.ru/news/55443.html , 05.04.2012.
  6. Гульмира Кенжегалиева, «Наказание деньгой не действует?», Караван, 14.07.2012.
  7. Sergey Solyanik, An Oil Democracy, or the Story of Berezovka, Green Salvation Herald, 2006, pp.82-95.
  8. http://www.greensalvation.org/index.php?page=berezovka, 14.05.2013.
  9. http://www.cao-ombudsman.org/cases/default.aspx?region_id=2, 14.05.2013.
Crude Accountability
Меню сайта