facebook youtube
Последние новости

Children's rights and the environment

The Problem of Berezovka’s Poisoned Children is Discussed at The United Nations Committee on the Rights of the Child

On September 23, Geneva, Switzerland hosted the annual discussion forum of the United Nations Committee on the Rights of the Child. The goal of the forum was to promote understanding of the relationship between the child’s rights and the environment and to define steps that need to be taken within the framework of laws, policies and practices in the field in order to improve the situation of children’s rights to a healthy environment. Special attention at the forum was paid to the influence of the business sector on the rights of children, as large companies often contribute significantly to the pollution of the environment, thus adversely affecting the health and well-being of children.

According to WHO estimates (2012), nearly one in four people die each year because of living or working in a polluted environment. More than 1,700,000 of them are children under the age of five years. Each year, 127,000 children die from air pollution. Baskut Tunchak, UN Special Rapporteur on the implications for human rights of the environmentally sound management and disposal of hazardous substances and wastes, notes that “1,700,000 deaths is only the tip of the iceberg, as there is a hushed pandemic of disability and disease associated with exposure to toxic substances and pollution of children.”

“International law requires states and companies to protect the rights of children and minimize harm caused by their activity. In the case of the poisoning of the children of Berezovka by toxic emissions from the Karachaganak gas condensate field in Kazakhstan, the Karachaganak Petroleum Operating (KPO) BV consortium not only violated and ignored the provisions of the Convention on the Rights of the Child and the Committee’s recommendations, but it also, in conjunction with the State, refused to acknowledge its responsibility for the tragedy or to provide adequate medical examination and treatment for children. Moreover, parents and community activists have received threats. The problem of the influence of the Karachaganak gas field on health is obvious. Eighty percent of Berezovka children suffer from pulmonary diseases. This situation is not acceptable for a country aspiring to join the ranks of the 30 most developed countries in the world,” said Sergei Solyanik, consultant for Crude Accountability, co-coordinator of the Children or Oil? coalition.


Crude Accountability
Меню сайта

facebook youtube
Последние новости

Международный форум «Права детей и окружающая среда» Проблема отравленных детей Березовки прозвучала в Комитете ООН по правам ребенка

23 сентября в г.Женева, Швейцария, прошел ежегодный дискуссионный форум Комитета ООН по правам ребенка. Целью форума было продвижение понимания взаимосвязи между правами ребенка и окружающей средой и определение того, что должно быть сделано в рамках законов, политик и практики на местах, чтобы адекватно учитывать экологические проблемы и улучшить ситуацию с правами детей на здоровую окружающую среду. Особое внимание на форуме было уделено влиянию бизнес сектора на права детей, так как зачастую крупные компании вносят значительный вклад в загрязнение и разрушение окружающей среды, что пагубным образом сказывается на здоровье и благополучии детей.

Согласно оценкам ВОЗ (2012) ежегодно почти каждый четвертый человек в мире умирает из-за того, что живет или работает в загрязненной окружающей среде. Из них более 1700000 - это дети в возрасте до пяти лет. 127000 детей ежегодно умирают от загрязнения воздуха. «1700000 смертей это только «верхушка айсберга», так как существует замалчиваемая пандемия инвалидности и болезней, связанных с воздействием токсичных веществ и загрязнением окружающей среды в детском возрасте», - заявил на форуме Баскут Тунчак, специальный докладчик ООН по правам человека в контексте регулирования опасных веществ и отходов.

«Международное право предписывает государствам и компаниям защищать права детей и минимизировать вред, оказываемый их деятельностью. В случае с отравлением детей Березовки токсическими выбросами с месторождения Карачаганак, Республикой Казахстан и консорциумом «Карачаганак Петролеум Оперейтинг Б.В.» были не только нарушены и проигнорированы положения Конвенции о правах ребенка и рекомендации Комитета. Государство и КПО отказываются признавать свою ответственность за трагедию и предоставить пострадавшим детям адекватное обследование и лечение. Более того, на родителей и общественных активистов оказывается давление и в их адрес звучат угрозы. Хотя проблема влияния Карачаганака на здоровье людей очевидна. 80% детей Березовки страдают легочными заболеваниями. Такая ситуация является не приемлемой для страны, претендующей на вхождение в число 30-ти самых развитых государств мира», - заявил на форуме Сергей Соляник, консультант Crude Accountability, со-координатор Коалиции «Дети или нефть?».


Crude Accountability
Меню сайта